Match Report – Corn na Boinne  Group A – Round 1   Bective 1-15 Nobber 0-11

Bective travelled to Nobber for this first round Corn na Boinne cup match on Tuesday Feb. 8th. Both teams were missing a few regulars and after a few wet days the pitch was soft and expected to take its toll on fluent football. However, both teams served up fast moving football with Bective showing the most eager and conducted frequent raids on the Nobber goals, but it was Nobber that started the scoring with a point on 4 minutes. Mark O’Brien fired over the first of his 6 points on 11 minutes followed by a Nobber point on 12 minutes. Mathew Cully and Con Smith pointed after swift moves and Nobber tapped over on 15 minutes, followed by a point from corner back Chris McGurn. Bective held the balance of power for the next 10 minutes with Scott Sullivan fielding securely in the Bective goals and his back line closing down any threat. Midfielder Ciaran Mc Connell provided linkage to the forward line and relentless attacking moves resulted in a fine O’Brien goal. Paul McCabe pointed a free kick and a further O’Brien point from play put Bective 6 points to the good. Nobber, with Dale Larkin leading the charge with fine shooting, responded with 2 points but Bective finished the half with points from O’Brien and 2 pointed free kicks from Marty Mulhall. Bective 1 – 9, Nobber 0 – 5.

After the resumption of play Bective kept pressing and O’Brien forced a great save from the Nobber keeper at the expense of a 45 but the Mulhall kick went wide. Mulhall added 2 points and O’Brien 1 point to the Bective tally. Nobber scored on 10 minutes but O’Brien replied immediately from a “Mark”. But Nobber dug deep and pilled on the pressure and scored 3 points in the following 10 minutes. Bective introduced David Fitzpatrick and Eanna Reilly to the back line. O’Brien fired over on 20 minutes with a fine left footed effort. Michael Lyness and Mark Walsh came into the Bective forward line. Nobber pointed again in the 26th minute but was cancelled out by a Mulhall free kick and Nobber added a final point on 28th minute to complete the scoring. Bective 1 – 15, Nobber 0 – 11.

Bective team:

Scott Sullivan, Chris McGurn, Donagh Garvey, Ben Malone, Colin O’Rourke, Jack Clarke, Con Smith, Ciaran Mc Connell, Paul Lyness, Mathew Cully, Marty Mulhall, Jack Grant, Mark O’Brien, Sean Keating, Paul McCabe.